District Judges sworn in
A swearing in Ceremony for three judges in the 24th District was held at 11am yesterday in the court room of the Yancey County Courthouse.  The North Carolina 24th Judicial District Court is one of forty-six district courts in North Carolina and has jurisdiction in Avery, Madison, Mitchell, Watauga and Yancey Counties. Federal Magistrate Judge Dennis Howell performed the ceremony and was assisted by Judge Warren Hughes the former Clerk of Superior Court in Yancey County.   The Ceremony included the swearing in of Ted McEntire.  He has served in this position since 2009. R. Gregory Horne has served as judge since 2004 and Alexander Lyerly who is the Chief District Court Judge for the 24th Judicial District and the longest serving District judge in North Carolina. He was originally elected in 1980. All three judges were re-elected in the 2012 election without opposition. 
Judge (2)
Photo 2 of 3
(Left to Right) Judge Dennis Howell, Judge Alexander Lyerly, Judge Warren Hughes


Judge (2)

Judge (1)