You Make A Difference Awards

On Thursday, April 24, the Rotary Club of Spruce Pine celebrated one of the special events of the year with the presentation of the You Make a Difference awards.Rotarian Elaine Percival, chairman of the You Make a Difference Award committee, began the recognition ceremony by stating that the Rotary Club of Spruce Pine has given this award annually as a way of recognizing and thanking everyday citizens who notably contribute to the quality of life in Mitchell County. This year three of them were honored with this award: Teaky and Mike Tollison, and Marcella Henson.
In his nomination of Marcella Henson, Rotarian Calvin Hall, wrote that Marcella is very active in church and is one of the most thoughtful, caring, and giving people in Mitchell County She shares acts of kindness daily, by visiting shut-ins, taking meals to people, shopping for groceries and picking up medicine and providing transportation for those who in need. She truly is a woman “making a difference in Mitchell County.” Rotary President Janie DeVos presented Marcella with the You Make A Difference Award certificate that says, “ in recognition of your numerous acts of kindness and selfless thoughtful services given daily to our community.”
Gary Moore, Principal of Deyton Elementary School, noted that quality volunteers are the backbone of the public school system and Teaky and Mike Tollison are quality volunteers who dedicate their time and energy to make a positive difference at his school. Some of their generous deeds include; being lunch monitors, providing supplies, volunteering with the reading and math curriculums, teaching classes when needed, writing a grant for 4thgrade students to go to Raleigh and covering the transportation expense, and helping to raise money for computers. They are active members of Deyton’s PTO, who serve our school without recognition, benefiting educators and students. Rotary President Janie DeVos presented Teaky and Mike with the You Make A Difference Award certificate that says, “in recognition of your time, talents, and treasure given generously to Deyton Elementary School and our community.”
Rotary District 7670 Governor Ronnie Thompson was present and commended the club for providing such recognition and the volunteer service of the three award recipients.
Spruce Pine Rotary is pleased to present this award to these three outstanding volunteers. Their positive attitudes and generous gifts of time to make Mitchell County a better place to live, are appreciated. They truly make a difference and with this award Rotarians simply say “Thank you.” 
Pictured are: Rotary President Janie DeVos; Calvin Hall, sponsor;Rotary District Governor Ronnie Thompson (back); Marcella Henson; Mike Tollison and Teaky Tollison;Gary Moore, sponsor, and Rotarian Elaine Percival
Photo by Rotarian Carole Arthurs

A   A   A