Candidate Field is shaping up for Local and State Elections

Candidates who are interested in throwing their hats into the ring for the Nov. 6 general elections are doing so in Mitchell County and Yancey Counties.
Recent filings  in Mitchell County have rounded out the field where in the School Board race there are three seats open with all three incumbents choosing not to file for reelection.  Seven candidates have filed including: Anne Wilson Castro, Matthew Mills, Gary Moore, Mark Paffrath, Angela Bailey Burleson, Mike Tollison and Kathy Woody Young. In the commissioners race Bill Slagle, Joe Street and primary-elect Matthew Vern Grindstaff will compete for term lengths on the county board. The top two vote-getters in the general election will receive four year terms while the third will receive a two year term.
Both Mitchell Sherriff Donald Street and Clerk of Court Janet Cook will be unopposed in the election this fall.
In the state legislature races Representative Josh Dobson will run for another term in the 85th District against Democrat J.R. Edwards of Marion. State Senator Ralph Hise will be unopposed in the 47th district after defeating his Republican opponent in the primary.
In Yancey County a full slate of local races will get the voters to the polls in November. The ballot in the Board of Commissioners race will contain the names of Republicans Byrl Ballew, Jannette Maddox, Earl “Chip” Tipton and Democrats Jill Austin, Jim Edwards and Johnny Riddle, while the Sherriff’s race will be between incumbent Republican Gary Banks and challenger Jeff Neill, a Democrat. Republican Seth Banks is running unopposed for District Attorney in the 24th District, as is Tammy Riddle McEntyre in the election for Clerk of Superior Court.
The US Senate race will be between Republican Thom Tillis, incumbent Democrat Kay Hagen and Libertarian Sean Haugh while the US House race will be between Republican Mark Meadows and Democrat challenger Tom Hill.
In the race for NC House District 11 Republican Michele Presnell will be challenged by Democrat Dean Hicks, both of whom reside in Burnsville.

A   A   A