The Fund for Mitchell County Announces $2,500 in Grants

The Fund for Mitchell County is pleased to announce $2,500 in grants to local nonprofit organizations providing support for K-3 literacy programs. The grants were made in partnership with The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina (CFWNC) and include:
  • $1,500 to Rural Education Partners for its K-3 Literacy Program.
  • $500 to UMC Lamplighters for their After School Reading and Enrichment Program (Spruce Pine United Methodist Church serves as fiscal sponsor).
  • $500 to Gouge Elementary School for its K-3 Literacy Program.
The Fund for Mitchell County, an affiliate of The Community Foundation, was established in 1999 by a group of local residents as a permanent endowment and resource for charitable efforts that benefit the entire county. Since 2000, The Fund for Mitchell County has awarded 65 grants to 34 organizations totaling $591,209. To make a tax-deductible contribution to The Fund for Mitchell County, donate online at or by mail to The Fund for Mitchell County, P.O. Box 1101, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-1101. Contributions of any size are welcome and will enable the Fund to support more programs with local dollars.
The local volunteer Advisory Board works to raise awareness of The Fund for Mitchell County and to build assets for the future.  These board members are: Dan Barron (Chair), Christopher Day (Vice Chair), Cindy Lindsey (Secretary), Janie DeVos, Sammie Ellis, Rhonda L. Gunter, Nick Joerling, Delphia Lamberson, Susan Larson, Sue Ledford, Starli McDowell, Yolanda Sommer, and Teaky Tollison.
The Community Foundation is a nonprofit serving eighteen counties in Western North Carolina.  The Foundation is a permanent regional resource that facilitates more than $15 million in charitable giving annually.  CFWNC inspires philanthropy and mobilizes resources to enrich lives and communities in Western North Carolina. CFWNC supports the growth of its affiliate funds to extend the benefits of philanthropy across the region.  To learn more about The Community Foundation, call 828-254-4960 or visit
For more information about The Fund for Mitchell County, contact Advisory Board Chair Dan Barron at or 828-284-1914.

A   A   A