Yancey County Author Katey Schultz Wins 2019 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Award

Loyola University Maryland’s Apprentice House Press is pleased to announce that Katey Schultz’s recent novel, Still Come Home, has been named a winner in the 21st annual Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards. Schultz was awarded the Bronze Medal in the Adult General Fiction category. “Schultz earned this honor with every word of Still Come Home,” said Kevin Atticks, director of Apprentice House.

“Still come Home” is set in both Western North Carolina and Afghanistan, the three characters in Katey Schultz’s novel are each searching for the best way to be, the best way to live—all the while fighting cultural, societal, and political forces far beyond their control. As their paths intersect over the span of three days, Still Come Home explores how their decisions will forever alter each other’s lives. Katey Schultz is the author of Flashes of War, which the Daily Beast praised as an “ambitious and fearless” collection, and Still Come Home, a novel, both published by Loyola University Maryland.

Honors for her work include the Linda Flowers Literary Award, Doris Betts Fiction Prize, Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Award for both titles, five Pushcart nominations, a nomination to Best American Short Stories, and writing fellowships in eight states. She lives in Celo, North Carolina, and is the founder of Maximum Impact, a transformative mentoring service for creative writers that has been recognized by both CNBC and the Wha t Works Network. Learn more at www.kateyschultz.com.

“Still Come Home is personal, global, tender, brutal, and deeply introspective … one of the finest works of fiction yet to come out of the Long Wars.” —Ben Fountain, author of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk

The INDIES recognize the best books published in 2019 from independent and university presses, as well as self-published authors. Over 2,100 entries were submitted in 55 categories, with Foreword’s editors choosing approximately 9 finalists per genre. Those finalists were then mailed to librarians and booksellers charged with picking the Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Honorable Mention winners. This year’s list of winners includes titles from esteemed presses including Cornell University Press, University of Notre Dame Press, Rizolli New York, New World Library, Indiana University Press, Sourcebooks, Oxford University Press, Candlewick Press, Loyola University Press, and John Hopkins University Press, among others. The complete list of winners can be viewed on the Foreword Reviews website.