NC DOT Begins Releasing Funds For Streets

In our area Bakerville, Burnsville and Spruce Pine are among the towns who will soon receive state funds to help with street repair. NC Department of Transportation has begun distributing nearly $132.7 million in State Street Aid to Municipalities, also known as Powell Bill funds, to 508 municipalities across the state.

The initial allocation, half of the overall total, went out Monday. The other half will be paid by Jan. 1, 2021.

The Powell Bill requires municipalities to use the money primarily for street resurfacing, but it can also be used for the construction and maintenance of roads, bridges, drainage systems, sidewalks and greenways.

The amount each municipality receives is based on a formula set by the N.C. General Assembly, with 75 percent of the funds based on population, and 25 percent based on the number of locally maintained street miles.

Other towns in this part of the state who will be receiving Powell Bill funds include Banner Elk, Blowing Rock, Boone, Beech Mountain,  Crossnore, Elk Park, Jefferson, Lansing, Newland, Seven Devils, Sparta,  Sugar Mountain, and West Jefferson.

The fund is named for Junius K. Powell, a former state senator and mayor of Whiteville who was a primary sponsor of the 1951 bill to help the state’s cities with urban road problems.