North Carolina High School Athletic Association’s Realignment

All the new classification assignments will go into effect in Fall 2021.

Hendersonville High remains at 2-A, while rival Polk County moves up from 1-A to 2-A to join the Bearcats. Mountain Heritage is the only WNC school that moved down in classification, from 2-A to 1-A.

Complete list of 2021-25 classifications for WNC schools:

  • 1-A: Andrews, Avery County, Blue Ridge, Cherokee, Hayesville, Mitchell, Mountain Heritage, Murphy, Robbinsville, Rosman, Swain County
  • 2-A: Brevard, Hendersonville, Madison, Owen, Polk County
  • 3-A: East Henderson, Enka, Erwin, Franklin, North Buncombe, North Henderson, Pisgah, Smoky Mountain, Tuscola, West Henderson
  • 4-A: A.C. Reynolds, Asheville, McDowell, T.C. Roberson